The 2006 Nextel Cup Aaron S 499 At Talladega Super Speedway

(No Ratings Yet)

In the last five years, Dale Jr. has won five of the last 10 races held at Talladega, and Jeff Gordon has won it twice in that timeframe, both of which in the Aaron’s 499 in 2004 and 2005. No other drivers on the list have won it more than once in the last 10 years. The track itself is a 2.66-mile tri-oval, which makes it the biggest in NASCAR. This race historically favors drivers who have good drafting skills, as it’s a track that features a 4100-foot straight backstretch. Once called Alabama International Motor Speedway, the Super-Speedway was originally constructed in 1969, right before the birth of the Plymouth Superbird and Dodge Charger Daytona, and also features a grandstand capacity of 143,231 seats. It hosts two races on the NASCAR schedule each year: the Aaron’s 499 and the UAW-Ford 500.

In a minimum of 10 races at Talladega, five racers who are in the Top Ten in points also carry an average finish of below 20th position: Dale Earnhardt, Jr. (7.2), Tony Stewart (9.5), Kevin Harvick (13.5), Jeff Gordon (15.1), and points leader Matt Kenseth (17.9). In the last five races of this 2006 season, Dale Jr., Stewart, Harvick, and Kenseth are also in the top six in average finishing position

Comments are closed.